Reason #621 Why Online Japanese Translators make for Excellent Blog-Post Fodder

I  just received an email from someone asking a question on Youtube. Not unusual but he went to the trouble of translating his English thoughts into Japanese using… an online translator.

I won’t copy all what he wrote–since it was a private message (and a good question)–but the first line in the Japanese ‘translation’ was screaming, “I’m blog post fodder. Laugh at me!”

I skimmed the English paragraph before starting the Japanese.  This line (the first line) stumped me:

こんにちはそこに!

Looking at the English, I see that corresponds with, “Hi there!”

Literally, “Hi” and “there”

I was happy to see a confession at the bottom of his translation:

Translation via: Babelfish

Now back to reading the rest of the message…

Leave a Reply

