P.D.Q. Bach

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=howtowowinjapa&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=B000000EJT&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifr
Way back in college a friend introduced me to P.D.Q. Bach. For those who haven’t heard of this particular son of Johann Sebastian Bach, allow me to explain.*

Professor Peter Schickele has made it his life’s work (four decades) to educate the public about Bach’s most forgotten son. A tribute to musical history, Professor Schickele has recorded several albums reconstructing what P.D.Q.’s music would have sounded like.

Sadly, despite Professor Schickele’s work, many scholars openly doubt P.D.Q.’s existence citing a total lack of historical record.

P.D.Q Bach died on April Fool’s Day – April 1, 1742. R.I.P.

http://rcm.amazon.com/e/cm?t=howtowowinjapa&o=1&p=8&l=as1&asins=B000H5U5MG&fc1=000000&IS2=1&lt1=_blank&lc1=0000FF&bc1=000000&bg1=FFFFFF&f=ifrTonight I had dinner at my parent’s house with a few of their friends. One friend is a musician (organ and piano). For some reason P.D.Q. Bach came to mind – I don’t know why since I had long lost my treasured CD (P.D.Q. Bach on the Air) during one of my moves – but it did. I asked him if he had heard of it. His eyes lit up and told me all about a DVD his students had given him called “We have a Problem.” Naturally, it was done in Houston. He pardoned himself, drove home, came back a few minutes later with the DVD and we watched most of it. Makoto had to go to bed so I didn’t get to see all of it, but it was hilarious!

This is supposedly P.D.Q. Bach’s official site, but it doesn’t seem to load tonight.


*Of course the good professor is just pulling our legs (and our ears). Learn more about him at Wikipedia’s site.

Leave a Reply

