Excite Truck

Having nothing at all to do with Japanese but wanting to type something here, I turn to a video game we’ve been playing. Maybe I will make a category for Video Games. Done. Ah, the joys of tabbed browsing…

About two months ago a friend called and said, “Clay, Wal-Mart has three Wiis. If you want one you’d better hurry!”

I better hurried and managed to get one at Wal-Mart for the normal $250 price. (plus taxes of course) If you are able to find one and can afford it, I highly recommend it especially if you have a wife who hates video games. She will go from, ‘Why are you wasting your time playing Xbox?’ to ‘when’s my turn on the Wii?’. The Nintendo Wii was made for wives who hate video games. I’m sure that statement is on the box.

excite.jpg
Anyway, the same friend who told me about the Wii, loaned me Excite Truck. If you played Excite Bike on the NES 20 years ago, this will be a forward-facing flashback – only with nice graphics and surround sound.

I have rented a few games for the Wii and have been a little disappointed. The Sports games that come with it are awesome of course, but it doesn’t seem many games use the new fangled controller to its fullest (yet). Excite Truck is an exception.

Blast your turbos as you hit a ramp and notice yourself leaning forward as you catch air. It can be exciting.

The other game I like for the Wii is The Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess. I found this Amazon link for a Nintendo Wii with Zelda & Excite Truck Bundle – Right now only third parties are selling it and the price is more than retail. But if you are interested in a Wii, these two games are just alright. Keep an eye on that page since Amazon occasionally gets some in. Or if you are like me and have a friend who checks Wal-Mart every morning for new shipments, have them add you to their speed dial.

Leave a Reply

